How to unpublish your Shopify store?

There may come a time when you need to unpublish or delete your Shopify store. Maybe you’re taking a break from selling, or maybe you’re closing up shop for good. Whatever the reason, unpublishing a Shopify store is easy.

If you have decided to permanently close your Shopify store, you can simply deactivate it from your admin. Here’s how you can do it –

  • Go to Settings > Plan from your admin dashboard.
  • Click on Pause, then click on Deactivate store.
  • Enter your password to confirm, and click on Deactivate now.

Once you do this, you will receive an email to your registered email ID confirming that your store is deactivated.

After that, you will not have access to your Shopify admin profile. But you can log in again to your Shopify admin by entering your credit card details and starting a subscription plan.

Here are a few more questions that you might want to know –

  • What happens when I delete my Shopify store?

    Your Shopify store will no longer be accessible online and will not appear in search results. Your domain name will continue to point to your Shopify store, but visitors will see a ‘Site Not Found page.” All your products, orders, pages, and blog posts will remain intact and can be accessed from your admin.

  • Can I republish my Shopify store after unpublishing it?

    Yes, you can republish your Shopify store. Just try to login to Shopify admin, select a plan and enter your credit card details to reactivate the store.

  • Does deleting the Shopify store cancel app subscriptions as well?

    Yes, Shopify cancels the subscription of all the apps paid through Shopify. However, if you have any 3rd-party apps with your payment information outside Shopify, you will have to manually cancel their subscriptions.

  • Will I be charged if I close my Shopify store?

    No, you won’t be charged for closing your Shopify store, but you also won’t receive any refunds for subscriptions paid in advance. So, make sure to unpublish your Shopify store before the billing data.

    Also, if you have any outstanding payments to Shopify, clear them before closing the store.

Related FAQs

Keep Up With EcomSutra

Join 1,500+ entrepreneurs & marketers to get the latest insights to grow your online business, straight to your mailbox!